Months in Review

January in Review

Hello lovelies,

So I’ve been MIA the past two weeks now and I’m sorry for that. I work full time and the past two weeks at work have been super busy. Plus, I had two family birthdays to attend and buy presents for. Excuses aside, I’ve been neglecting my reading. I’m not sure if I fell into a reading slump or if my emotions were just all over the place that I didn’t have the energy to pick up a book. I’ve started about four books that I haven’t finished yet, but I’m hoping to push through and complete them. I know I’m behind on some reviews that owe people so I’m hoping to get those up sometime this week and have a good start to February.

I’ve also decide to take a break from ARCs. I went a bit request crazy on NetGalley and have about 10 ebooks that I need to read and review. Luckily some of them are spaced out timing wise. I won’t be requesting more or accepting any requests unless I really want to read the book. Lately, ARCs have just been stressing me out because I feel like I’m glued to this immovable schedule sometimes. Plus, it’s hard when I end up not liking the book to push through and finish. I’m currently in that position with 2 of the books I mentioned starting above. So for now, ARCs and me are on a break. Plus my TBR books I own pile has gotten so large that I need to start focusing on that anyway. πŸ™‚

With that said, I am planning on going to BEA for the first time this year and I’m also going to ApollyCon in February. So I may or may not be coming back with some physical ARCs. In which case, I’ll hopefully have de-stressed somewhat and will be ready to take on more ARCs. Book Blogging was also a hobby for me. Something I did to connect with other readers as I don’t have many friends who read. I also blog to feed my writing habit. I love to write so what could be better than to write about something I love?! Bringing ARCs into my life has been a little bit stressful this year, so I need to take that step back and get back to enjoying what I started here and reading in general. Maybe once I balance my life out more this year, I’ll be able to take on more reading πŸ™‚

Now to reflect back on this past January!

Jan Reviews

  1. My 2015 Reading Challenges
  2. The Muse by Jessica Evans – * * * * *
  3. Sleigh Bells in the Snow by Sarah Morgan * * * * *
  4. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – * * * * *
  5. Wrecked by Priscilla West – * *

book hauls

Who doesn’t love a good book haul? If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve already seen all the books I’ve gathered this month. If you don’t, then feast your eyes on these bookish beauties πŸ˜‰

books - jan - haul

I also was lucky enough to get a box full of books from my friend Ardenis. She’s amazing and sent me these from her current internship πŸ™‚

photo 2

eeandt

Lastly, here’s a look back at my time spent during this past month πŸ™‚ I spent a day in NYC with my friend A catching up and dreaming of one day working back at Hearst or somewhere in the Big Apple. NYC is a city that breathes life and I want to be a part of it very badly. With that said, dreams change. While I had my mind set on writing for a magazine or jumping into the publishing world any way I could, I’m now seriously considering going back for my Masters in Library and Information Science. I think being a librarian is something that I would not only love to do day in and out, but also something I feel like I could really excel at. NYC is still my main dream, but now I just might be doing something different in that city πŸ˜‰
event 4food 1

While visiting with A, we got to chat over the most delicious chicken quesadillas I’ve ever had! Just yum!!

This past month I also got to attend a book signing with Holly Black, one of my favorite paranormal writers!! She was so funny and down to earth and most importantly honest. Her Q & A session was so great! She was nice enough to get a picture with me too πŸ™‚

event 1

The last two week of January were crazy, like I mentioned above. I was however able to squeeze in a trip to see comedian, John Oliver. He’s my favorite comedian and I am so grateful and ecstatic that I was able to catch his stand-up show. He was just (if not more) wonderful as I knew he would be. It was snowing that night and it actually took my friends and I almost 3 hours to get home! It was a bad storm and the road (of course) were not plowed…soo….yeah that happened. It was a little scary, but we obviously survived πŸ™‚

event 2

Lastly, this past week I helped celebrate my brother’s 30th birthday at a home Flyers game. I’m a big hockey fan, so this was almost like a present to me as well πŸ˜‰

event 3

Here are some of my favorite things this month and another epic food shot! I’m only slightly obsessed with taking photos of food. Okay maybe like a lot obsessed lol. I just can’t help it when it looks so pretty and yummy! I just have to share πŸ™‚

accessories 1 accessories 2food 2

Thanks so much for stopping by and reading! This past month has been crazy, but I think it’s been a pretty okay start to 2015. I know things can only get better from here and I cannot wait for February!

What have you read, done, seen, ate this past January?! Let me know in the comments below!!Β 

Happy Reading!

Later BookNerds!

xo,

signature 2

Leave me know your thoughts here!

